Ohio DUI Penalties and How To Choose an Ohio DUI Attorney
In Ohio, alcohol related driving under the influence or being under the influence of drugs (known as OVI) and driving over the legal limit or a “BAC.” These are both alcohol related offenses under Ohio DUI law. Ohio drunk driving arrest will bring two separate cases which are a court case and a Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles case. In the court case Ohio DUI penalties are possible jail time, classes, fines, and other penalties. In the license bureau case the driving privileges are at stake for the offender.
Ohio DUI Attorney
There are many places to acquire an Ohio DUI attorney to help lessen your Ohio DUI penalties. I found this awesome source for an Ohio DUI attorney at DUI.com. There are many available sources out there for a DUI attorney, but just remember to try to find a qualified lawyer. You want to speak to more than one lawyer ultimately before making your final decision on choosing who to represent you. Don’t be afraid to ask an Ohio attorney plenty of questions before making your decision. The best Ohio lawyers and the most qualified will welcome all your questions. Finding an Ohio DUI attorney with experience is the best thing to do in a tragic time such as this. These kind of crimes are very common in Ohio and all over the country, having a qualified lawyer to defend you will help the case go quicker and better than pleading guilty. Acquiring an Ohio DUI lawyer will save you some of your Ohio DUI penalties and save you from embarrassment.
Ohio DUI Penalties – Ohio Dui 1st Offense
The first DUI offense can result in a Administrative License Suspension (ALS) for exceeded the legal limit of blood alcohol concentration (BAC). License suspension for up to 90 days and can be suspended for up to a year for a test refusal. Then you are required to go to jail for 3 days or take a 3 day driver classes. The court can suspend license from 4 months to 3 years depending on case faces. The first offense of an Ohio DUI will end in $300 – $1,500 fine.
Ohio Dui Penalties – Ohio DUI 2nd Offense
The second offense in Ohio can result in a license suspension for up to a year. Refusal to administer a test will be a two year license suspension for suspect. Jail time for an Ohio DUI can consist of 10 consecutive days to 5 days in jail. Then there is a possibility of being on house arrest with an electric monitored bracelet. The find for an Ohio DUI can range anywhere from$400 to $1500. Need to attend a driver’s intervention program when receiving Ohio DUI penalties. The court can suspend driver’s license for 1 year to 5 years depending on the charge.
Ohio DUI Penalties – Ohio DUI 3rd Offense
The third DUI offense in Ohio will result in a minimum license suspension for two years with the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles. A refusal to partake in the BAC test will result in a license suspension for up 3 years. The Ohio DUI penalties for the third offense can result in a 30 day to 6 month jail sentence. Some people will get the choice between being on house arrest for about a year or you can serve a jail term. Some counties in Ohio offer an alternative sentence for some DUI suspects. The fines for the third DUI offense can range from $500 to $2500. Your vehicle license plates will be impounded for nearly 180 days and a court license suspension that could last anywhere from 1-10 years.
Ohio DUI Penalties – 4th DUI Offense
There is an administrative license suspension for a minimum of 3 years for the fourth offense. The fourth offense Ohio DUI penalty will be considered a felony. Refusal to administer the blood alcohol test will result in license suspension for 5 years. Jail time can be 60 days to 1 year and a mandatory drug and alcohol treatment classes must be attended. The drug and alcohol classes must be paid for by the offender. The court will most likely seize your motor vehicle for the fourth DUI offense in Ohio. The court will most likely suspend your driver’s license up to 3 years or even permanently revoke the driver’s license.