Anglers who enjoy fishing the waters of Oklahoma or enjoy taking or attempting to take any aquatic dwelling organism must possess a valid, current Oklahoma Fishing License. This requirement is for residents of Oklahoma and for visitors to Oklahoma as well. These anglers are also required to possess a Fishing and Hunting Legacy Permit. The Oklahoma law also requires that fishing licenses and permits must be on the anglers person any time they are fishing.
Oklahoma Fishing Licenses can be bought online at www.wildlifedepartment.com/onlinesales/onlinesalesintro.asp or at any license dealer such as sporting goods, bait shops, convenience stores or discount stores. These licenses can also be bought in person at any Department of Wildlife Conservation hatchery as well as the Jenks and Oklahoma City offices or by calling 800-949-6392 or 405-521-3852.
Residents of Oklahoma can choose from a Resident Annual Fishing License, a Resident 2-Day Fishing License, a Resident Youth Fishing License, Resident Combination Hunting and Fishing License, Disability Fishing License, Lifetime Fishing License, Lifetime Fishing Over 60 or a Lifetime Combination Hunting and Fishing. According to the Oklahoma Department of Wildlife Conservation, “a resident is any individual who has resided in Oklahoma for a period of not less than 60 days and has the intention of making Oklahoma his or her home during this period.”
Non-residents of Oklahoma can choose from a Non-resident Annual Fishing License, Non-resident 5-day Fishing License or a Non-resident Lifetime Fishing License.
Exemptions to the fishing license requirement are residents of Oklahoma who are 15 and younger and non-residents who are 14 years old, non-residents under 16 that are residents of Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, New Hampshire, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Texas and Wisconsin. Residents of Oklahoma who are owners or are tenants who fish in their private ponds and their families are exempt, residents of Texas who are 64 years old are exempt, residents of Oklahoma who are disabled veterans that have at least a 60 percent disability and Oklahoma residents who are members of the U.S. Armed Forces on leave are exempt. Anglers who use a pole and line, a throw line or a trotline in streams, natural ponds and mine pits that form the boundary of the county that the angler is a resident of the county and uses bait other than artificial or commercial bait as well as shrimp, cut fish and blood are exempt. Residents who are legally blind, nonambulatory, confine to a wheelchair or in a state institution or exempt. Job Corp trainees of Oklahoma, residents under 18 that are in legal custody of the state or are in a child care facility custody are exempt.
Every time an angler purchases an Oklahoma Fishing License, they are helping with the funding of wildlife conservation in Oklahoma as the majority of the sales of these licenses go to this cause. So not only is it the law, it also helps ensure the future of this sport in Oklahoma.